Hyundai Sonata The Sonata has grown to be the premier mid-sized sedan of the Hyundai name with the many interior options and the powerful V6 engine.

2015 Sonata Hybrid check charging system warning every week

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2020, 06:39 PM
Exclamation 2015 Sonata Hybrid check charging system warning every week

About once a week I get the dashboard warning "Hybrid System Warning, Safely Stop and Do No Drive, Check Charging System". So I pull over and turn the engine off on on three times and everything clears up with no check engine light on. I read this trick on a Prius forum. The car runs fine for a next week or so and then it happens again. I'm an Uber driver and I drive a lot. I have 239K miles on my car.

There doesn't seem to be any common denominator when it happens. I took it in and had the auxiliary battery checked after it happened once and it was fully charged. I had the dealer replace this battery about a year ago. They seem to only last about three years which was the same experience on the Prius which I had for 13 years. Best car I ever owned. I would have bought another one but not enough room for an Uber car

Today when I got the warning I attached my code reader it came back with "no codes". I did this is while the check engine light was still on before cycling the engine on and off three times.

Any ideas? I would take it to my dealer but I know they would charge me for a diagnostic and tell me there's nothing wrong with it and no error codes.

Old 07-21-2020, 07:07 AM

The system is detecting a problem and letting you know.
The on and off 3 times is allowing the system to reset, but not correcting the problem.